Polls, schmolls, we know that they keep asking the same person the same question restated over and over.

Originally posted on peacocks and lilies:

I’ve come to think of Walter Russell Mead as the “Mind of the Middle.” He’s not conservative or liberal; he just makes common sense. His article about noise versus knowledge once again strike me right where I am in the moment. I know that Team Obama has been trying their level best to amplify a noise machine of their own making and that there are some very smart minds out there who think this will work. I don’t, and I don’t know yet if that’s because I’m seeing clearly or because I am a cantankerous old fart who is not seeing clearly. It could be that the country is full of cantankerous old farts who are thinking similar thoughts and that this is the stream of consciousness I’ve tapped into.

Or maybe, as Mead suggests, we’re just following the spectacle too closely.

But at the same time, it must be…

View original 1,425 more words